2016 Grand Design Reflection 308BHTS

Travel Trailer · Sleeps 8 · Kept near Miami, FL

Reviewed by Ben Kiser, RV rental operator and fleet consultant.

The host’s day rate

$149 a night

Before Florida’s 6% tax and the host’s cleaning, mileage and delivery fees. Your dates and the total are on the listing.

Type
Travel Trailer
Sleeps
8
Length
37 ft
Height
listed as 11.4, units not stated
Kept near
Miami, FL
Delivery
Up to 100 miles, the host's own range
Instant book
No, the host accepts each request
Minimum nights
3

What the host says about it

Enjoy camping with your family in this Reflection travel trailer by Grand Design. Model 308BHTS offers triple slides, a private bunkhouse, an outdoor kitchen, and so much more! Enter the side door and find yourself in a wide-open kitchen and living space with dual opposing slides. Notice the handy coat closet to your immediate right. There is a slide-out three burner range, refrigerator, and pantry to the left of the door. Opposite find a slide out theater seat or tri-fold sofa option and booth dinette or free standing dinette option. Enjoy the entertainment center with fireplace beneath a 32" TV along the exterior angled bathroom wall. There is also a center kitchen island with double sinks, plenty of counter space, and storage. Head to the right in the main living space to find a side aisle bath with corner radius shower including skylight, sink with overhead cabinet, and toilet. There is also a second sliding door that leads into a front master bedroom. The bedroom can also be accessed from the hall. When you step inside find a queen bed, dual bedside wardrobes, plus overhead storage. In the very rear of this Reflection unit find a private bunkhouse with slide out sofa bed and flip bunk above on the right. There is a smaller sofa bed opposite with a toy trunk beneath and a 28" x 72" bunk bed above. Both sofa beds convert to a king-size bed when put together. The bunk room also features an entertainment center, and wardrobe, plus an end table. A generous exterior pass-through storage compartment in the front makes it easy to store all of your outdoor camping gear. In the rear enjoy an outdoor kitchen that features a sink, overhead microwave overhead storage, a refrigerator, and a two-burner stovetop, plus more.

Where it can go in the Keys

Two questions decide it. Can the host get it to your key, and will your campground take it? Reach uses the host’s own range against a straight line from where it is kept. Outdoorsy does not say whether that range means road miles, and US-1 runs longer than the straight line.

  • Key Largo

    In range

    36 miles in a straight line from where it is kept, inside the host's 100 mile range.

  • Marathon

    In range

    75 miles in a straight line from where it is kept, inside the host's 100 mile range.

  • Key West

    Out of range

    113 miles in a straight line from where it is kept, past the host's 100 mile range.

The host lists it at 37 ft. Here is that figure against what each campground publishes.

  • Over
    Bahia Honda, Sandspur loop: 23 ft hitch to bumper

    Outdoorsy does not say whether a towable's listed length includes the hitch. Ask the host for hitch to bumper before you book this loop.

  • Clears
    Pennekamp: most sites 40 ft

    The park says a few sites take a little more, and the reservation system shows "Max trailer length 62". The site you are given is what has to fit.

  • Clears
    Leo's Campground, Key West: 42 ft

    Leo's counts bumpers and any bike or motorcycle rack. Ask the host whether the listed length includes them.

  • Clears

    Boyd's, Stock Island: 45 ft in select sites

    Only some sites take the longest rigs. Give Boyd's the length when you book the site.

  • Over

    Parking on a Key West street: 20 ft

    City code keeps longer RVs off every street, occupied or not. It is a parking rule, so a longer RV stays at the campground while you go into town.

The terms hosts set

  • The host picks the cancellation policy. Of the 81 listings that can reach the Keys, 29 use strict, 16 moderate, 20 flexible and 16 write their own.
  • Security deposits run from $500 to $3,000, with $1,000 in the middle.
  • 50 of the 81 require a renter of 25 or older. 31 accept 21.
  • 19.8% take an instant booking. The rest are requests the host has to accept.
  • Florida charges 6% on the rental itself, and a Monroe County campsite adds 12.5% on the site.
How the host’s terms, the tax and the Keys rules fit together

Questions about the 2016 Grand Design Reflection 308BHTS

Up to 8. That counts every berth. Jolly Roger, Grassy Key and Boyd's each allow one RV and one vehicle per site, so plan the car as well as the beds.

The host lists $149 a night. Florida adds 6% sales tax on the rental, and the host's cleaning, mileage and delivery fees sit on the listing. The campsite is separate: Monroe County campgrounds add 12.5% tax, and a state park adds a $7 nightly utility fee and a $6.70 reservation fee. Whether Florida's daily rental car surcharge applies to an RV is not stated in the statute; the Florida Department of Revenue can confirm.

The host publishes a 100 mile range. In a straight line from where the host keeps it, that reaches as far as Marathon. Outdoorsy does not say whether the range is road miles, and US-1 is longer than a straight line, so confirm your campsite with the host. 37 of the 81 listings that reach the Keys publish a per-mile fee, with a median of $4 a mile; the rest quote it on the listing.

It's a towable, so it needs a vehicle with a hitch rated for it. Without one, the host's delivery is how it gets to the site. Ask whether the host sets it up and levels it when they drop it off.

The host picks it from Outdoorsy's tiers, and it shows on the listing before you pay. Across the 81 listings that can reach the Keys, 29 are strict, 16 moderate, 20 flexible and 16 custom. Read a custom one closely. If a hurricane evacuation is ordered, Monroe County sends visitors and RVs out first, so ask the host how they handle that before you book.

It's the host's call. 61 of the 81 listings that reach the Keys are marked pet friendly. The campground has its own rule too: Leo's in Key West bans several breeds, and Grassy Key allows two pets at most.
Beyond the day rate

What else a Keys trip costs

The host’s rate covers the RV. The site, the tax and the drive are on top, and they are the same whichever listing you pick.

On the host's listing

  • Florida's 6% tax on the rental, collected at checkout
  • Cleaning, mileage and generator terms, set per listing
  • Delivery, priced by the host. Where a per-mile fee is published, the median is $4 a mile
  • Roadside help through Outdoorsy's protection on eligible bookings

At the campground

  • The site itself, booked separately and usually first
  • 12.5% tax on a Monroe County campsite stay of six months or less
  • State parks: $36 a night, a $7 nightly RV utility fee and a $6.70 reservation fee
  • Private parks set their own minimums, and some take a deposit for a month

On the road

  • Fuel down US-1, if you drive or tow it yourself
  • Card Sound Road toll: $2.18 for two axles on SunPass, $4.17 for three
  • Toll-by-plate on Card Sound is $3.28 and $6.27. No cash is taken
  • No source we read permits overnight RV parking outside a campground, so plan a paid site every night

Add it up for your own dates on the trip cost calculator

Similar RVs for the Keys

Jay Flight Travel Trailer RV rental for the Florida Keys, exterior

Travel Trailer

Jay Flight

Length
22 ft long
Height
Height not published, ask the host

Sleeps 4

$79 a night, the host’s rate

Book the site, then the 2016 Grand Design Reflection 308BHTS

Campsites in the Keys go first. With the site held, check this host’s dates and send the request. The booking and the payment sit with the host on the marketplace.